This and that

– I just found out about this interesting book coming out – it’s called unChristian. Check out the website. Basically, the book is based on a study that looked at perceptions of Christianity and Christians. Here are some of the words/phrases that were often mentioned: antihomosexual, judgmental, hypocritical, sheltered, too political. I ordered the book and I’m looking forward to reading it and maybe discussing it some here.

– This is old news but still very interesting. Have you guys read about Mother Teresa’s recently released journals? Read “Mother Teresa’s Crisis of Faith” from Time magazine. It’s well worth the read.

Geoff posted about his ACL experience (here). I’m so very jealous that he saw Arcade Fire. There is no band I would rather see live right now. I have been listening to their latest, Neon Bible, over and over in my car. I can’t stop. I think it might be even better than Funeral.

– Keep up the conversations about hell (here and here). It’s been good.

– 11 people got together and started an Emergent cohort in Waco this week. I’m excited and hopeful for what is to come.

4 Responses

  1. unChristian looks really good. I read the part of the first chapter that’s available through the website and really appreciated what they had to say. I look forward to hearing from you about it.

    Is there anything specific, other than good, beneficial conversation, you expect to come out of the Emergent cohort? I’m just curious what your expectations are.

  2. Amy, I am primarily looking for good, beneficial conversation. However, I do have the hope that the benefit ends up going beyond those having the conversation. I don’t know what that might look like at this point – we’ll see…

  3. yes, arcade fire….powerful. and also, i love getting all the good book suggestions from you. lots of people think i’m “in-the-know” or something, but i really just respect your taste and try and read some of what you read :)

  4. Great, Adam, I’ve started three books, with two more that I have already checked out, and my brother lent me one over the weekend…. I think I’m going to have to wait until UnChristian actually comes out.

Comments are closed.

