Favorite Movies and Music of 2007

In 2007 I gained a new appreciation for movies and music. I don’t do a very good job of keeping up with new movies and music, but here’s a list of my favorite movies and music from the past year (only some of these actually came out in 2007).

MUSIC

I did grow to have a greater appreciation of music this past year, but that doesn’t mean I listened to a lot of music. It’s just difficult because I don’t like buying CDs unless I know I will really like the CD. But it’s hard to really get to listen to a CD unless you buy it…it’s quite a conundrum really.

My Very Favorites

Arcade Fire – Neon Bible
Radiohead – In Rainbows

Others

The Khrusty Brothers – The Khrusty Brothers
Waterdeep – Heart Attack Time Machine
Over the Rhine – The Trumpet Child
Derek Webb – The Ringing Bell
The Frames – The Cost

Others Not From 2007

I listened to everything Sufjan Stevens and couldn’t stop. I love it all.
I also loved Arcade Fire’s Funeral, which I didn’t discover until this year (I think I liked Neon Bible even more though).

MOVIES

I mainly watched DVDs this year. With a new baby, it was tough to make it to the theater – so many of these are not 2007 releases. But I did discover quite a few gems from years past. However, I don’t think any of these movies matched my top three from last year (Children of Men, Pan’s Labyrinth, and Little Miss Sunshine. I keep loving those three more with each viewing.)

The Best

Born Into Brothels
Promises
The Motorcycle Diaries
The Bourne Ultimatum
Once

Other Favorites

The Lives of Others
Breach
Amazing Grace
Zodiac
Ocean’s 13
American Gangster
Into Great Silence
Donnie Darko
The Prestige
Sophie Scholl: The Final Days
The Illusionist

A few I originally forgot about

Maria Full of Grace
Marie Antoinette
The Constant Gardener
City of God

Ones I missed and look forward to seeing in 2008

A Mighty Heart
300
The King of Kong
For the Bible Tells Me So
Into the Wild
The Assassination of Jessee James by the Coward Robert Ford
Beowulf
Charlie Wilson’s War
I’m Not There
Juno
Lars and the Real Girl
Michael Clayton
My Kid Could Paint That
No Country for Old Men
Sweeny Todd
I Am Legend
The Diving Bell and the Butterfly
There Will Be Blood
The Kite Runner
What Would Jesus Buy?

What were your favorites?

5 Responses

  1. […] Adam created an interesting post today on Favorite Movies and Music of 2007Here’s a short outlineIn 2007 I gained a new appreciation for movies and music. I don’t do a very good job of keeping up with new movies and music, but here’sa list of my favorite movies and music from the past year (only some of these actually came out in … […]

  2. Look at you, being quoted on some site somewhere!

    I really liked “I Am Legend.” I don’t know that I had a favorite movie this year, although if I had to choose I think I’d say it was “Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix.” I think it’s my favorite of the series so far (movies, that is.) I also really liked “The Prestige” and “The Illusionist” (and I maintain that movies often come in twos), but liked “Illusionist” better.

    I also look forward to seeing several of the movies you listed, especially “Charlie Wilson’s War” and “Sweeney Todd.”

  3. We saw A Mighty Heart recently and thought it was very good. Sad, hard, but well done and very well acted.

  4. I saw “Juno” yesterday (12/29) at Cinemark Austin (I usually won’t venture outside the Dobie or one of the Alamo Drafthouses but I *really* wanted to see this & didn’t feel like going downtown on such a busy shopping weekend) and I have to say…Ivy’s noise be darned. Pack up your family and go. see. this. movie. Today!

    Rarely do we get to see something so well written and acted that is ALSO nearly-wet-yourself funny AND life affirming to boot.

    That little Ellen Page…she is so perfect in this movie I swear I just want to put her on a ritz and have her for a snack. Her comedic timing is something many seasoned actors would give their porcelain veneered eyeteeth for.

    Congrats on your football…thing! Many happy returns for the …Strudelbug Luigis, or whatever they are!

    ~Liz

  5. I Am Legend is pretty incredible. you should make it one of your first views of 2008.

    BTW, thanks for the suggestion on Happiest Baby on the Block. I’m reading it right now, and Shari has already read it – very helpful.

Comments are closed.

