Desmond Tutu and Hope

I don’t know if you all have been keeping up with the situation in Kenya. I’ve only read a couple articles and heard some reports on NPR. But anyways, yesterday during my drive home from work I was listening to NPR and heard something so powerful it made me stop my car and write it down.

In the midst of the turmoil in Kenya, Desmond Tutu came to the country and yesterday spoke with all of the various parties who are in conflict with one another. In a press conference after his meetings, Archbishop Tutu was asked if he had any hope that the situation would improve. After what was almost a chuckle, Tutu responded with the following:

“I am always a prisoner of hope.”

Tutu went on to explain that with all he has experienced in South Africa, he cannot help but be imprisoned by a sense of hope.

I found this sentiment quite powerful. I want to be imprisoned by a sense of hope for my life, my relationships, my communities, and my world. Too often this has not been my outlook. Perhaps in this new year my perspective can continue to change.

2 Responses

  1. I love the quote. We desperately need Archbishop Tutu and other leaders like him who have the courage to hope, even when their hope makes them fools. The cynics and realists are so wise, and so often right. Their cynicism is infectious and therefore self-fulfilling. So they are usually, but thank god not always, right.

  2. By the way, I’m plenty guilty of cynicism myself. When I point to “cynics and realists”, I’m not pointing to anybody in particular, but to that part inside all of us that never shuts up telling us that what we hope and dream for is unlikely to happen.

    What would you do if you absolutely knew you wouldn’t fail? What would we do as a country, as human beings on this planet, if we KNEW we wouldn’t fail? Think about that. Make a list. Ignore the voice of cynicism inside. Write it out. Then pray for leaders who share that vision and refuse to acknowledge the possibility of failure. And pray for courage to be one of them.

    Anyway, thank Adam for this post. Great stuff.

Comments are closed.

