Speaking of Silence

Meister Eckhart
“Nothing is so like God as silence.”

Thomas Keating
“Silence is God’s first language; everything else is a poor translation. In order to hear that language, we must learn to be still and to rest in God.”

St. John of the Cross
“The Father spoke one word from all eternity and he spoke it in silence, and it is in silence that we hear it.”

Thomas Merton
“It is in deep solitude and silence that I find the gentleness with which I can truly love my brother and sister.”

________________

Subscribe to comments

Subscribe to blog

2 Responses

  1. If this is true, then the belief that one has received a word or leading or direction from God should be accompanied by absolute humility and ever-present doubt.

  2. I think this concept of silence definitely impacts the way we understand who God is, how we “know” him, and how we interact with him.

    But this concept also speaks of an ever-present God – a God ever-present in the silence. Always “speaking.”

    I don’t know what to think exactly…but I like that it’s making me think.

Comments are closed.

