If God is Love

I have often contemplated the title of my blog (I’ve blogged about it at least three other times – 1, 2, and 3). I don’t know exactly where the title came from. There is a book with the same title, but I’m pretty sure I encountered the book after I started blogging. Either way, “If God is Love” is a phrase full of meaning for me. Mostly it’s a phrase full of hope.

Lately, I’ve been thinking about this title and how it relates to “a new way to believe.” Upon reflection, I’ve realized that the phrase “If God is Love” contains within it at least two questions.

The question of God – “If God” – and the question of God’s Love – “If God is Love.”

At times it may seem that God is not real or at least that God is not love. But for me the giant “if,” the significant uncertainty in this phrase, is not only a signal for the question of God, but also a sign of hope. Hope that there might be a God of Love and a realization of what that means for everything and everyone. The “if” requires faith and hope. I choose to believe. I choose to hope. In the midst of the uncertainty.

This is not a blind hope and a blind faith. I’m not saying that there is an imaginary possibility that God is Love and I choose to believe in that – no, it’s more than that. I believe I have encountered this God of Love. But I also acknowledge that I have encountered the uncertainty.

And so I recognize that I have encountered both the presence of God and the uncertainty of God.

“If God is Love” is where I stand in the midst of this paradox.

________________

Subscribe to comments

Subscribe to blog

2 Responses

  1. I always took it to be the first half of a conditional statement. Like, “If God is Love, then …. ???” Which kind of works too for the recent vein of posts.

  2. Yeah, that has always been my thinking about it too. I was just thinking more recently that within the conditional there is the uncertainty.

Comments are closed.

